Designer Nominees Announced for the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize | BLOUIN ARTINFO
Louise Blouin Media
Louise Blouin Media, Inc.
88 Laight Street
New York
Blouin Artinfo

Subscriber login

Articles Remaining

Get access to this story, and every story on any device with our Basic Digital subscription.

Subscribe for only $20 Log in

Designer Nominees Announced for the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize

Designer Nominees Announced for the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize
Designer Nominees for the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize
(Courtesy: Woolmark Prize )

The Woolmark Company had recently announced the global nominees for the 2018/19 International Woolmark Prize, deemed to be one of the most coveted designer awards in fashion.

More than 300 emerging fashion designers from across 46 countries applied to take part in this year’s International Woolmark Prize. The most promising 42 designers, who showcased creativity, originality of design, innovation and brand recognition, have now been nominated to showcase their brand to a panel of experts at one of three semi-final events in July.

Finalists will each receive a financial contribution of AU$70,000 to invest in the development of their capsule collection alongside mentoring, business training and showcasing opportunities. One menswear and one womenswear designer will each receive AU$200,000 at the global final along with guaranteed placement in some of the most important boutiques around the globe that have committed to supporting the award. The Innovation Award will also be presented, for a second year, to one finalist, with a financial contribution of AU$100,000.

Some of the shortlisted names for the Hong Kong event are Angel Chen from China, Cynthia & Xiao from Hong Kong, Dhruv Kapoor from India, I-am-Chen from Hong Kong, Leandro Cano from Spain, and Yohei Ohno from Japan, among others.

“Semi-finals will be held around the world, with nominees invited to pitch to an esteemed judging panel for investment in a capsule collection crafted from Merino wool. These events will then identify the 12 finalists to take part in the International Woolmark Prize global final to be held at an international fashion week in early 2019,” says the Woolmark Prize website.

Talking about its initiation, first launched in 1953 by the International Wool Secretariat, the prize was famously awarded in 1954 to Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in Paris. Today, the International Woolmark Prize continues to recognize outstanding talent from around the world and support designers throughout their career.

“The 42 designer nominees are invited to attend a workshop hosted by The Woolmark Company to help prepare them for the development and manufacturing of their capsule collection to support with the commercialization of their collection ideas. Workshops will include detailed presentations by industry experts, with a focus on innovation across fabric development and processing to improve the overall impact of collections on the environment and the wearer to ensure the International Woolmark Prize continues to push the boundaries of global fashion,” says the website.