And The Golden Lion Goes to... | BLOUIN ARTINFO
Louise Blouin Media
Louise Blouin Media, Inc.
88 Laight Street
New York
Blouin Artinfo

Subscriber login

Articles Remaining

Get access to this story, and every story on any device with our Basic Digital subscription.

Subscribe for only $20 Log in

And The Golden Lion Goes to...

And The Golden Lion Goes to...
Svizzera 240 - House Tour
(© Italo Rondinella via ArchDaily)

The results are in as Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects, curators of the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale, have announced the winners of the prestigious Golden Lion Awards. Among many prizes awarded, the Golden Lion for Best National Participation went to Switzerland and Best Participant went to Eduardo Souto de Moura.

Swiss pavilion won the Golden Lion for its “compelling exhibition which was enjoyable while tackling the critical issues of scale in domestic space." Great Britain bagged an honorable mention for “Island,” which the jury described as a “courageous proposal which uses emptiness as a platform for events and as a proposal for Freespace.”  

Portuguese architect Eduardo Souto de Moura won the Golden Lion for the Best Participant in the International Exhibition. His work was praised for its "precision of the pairing of two aerial photographs, which reveals the essential relationship between architecture, time, and place." The Silver Lion in this category went to Dutch team Jan de Vylder, Inge Vinck and Jo Taillieu, "for a project that possesses a confidence thanks to which slowness and waiting allow architecture to be open to future activation," noted the jury. Rahul Mehrotra bagged a Special Mention "for three projects that address issues of intimacy and empathy, gently diffusing social boundaries and hierarchies." Andra Matin also received a Special Mention "for a sensitive installation that provides a framework to reflect on the material and form of traditional vernacular structures."

The Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement was presented to Kenneth Frampton whose work won appreciation for "extraordinary insight and intelligence combined with a unique sense of integrity."

The winning contributions were selected by the curators with the help of the jury members including Frank Barkow, Sofia Von Ellrichshausen, Kate Goodwin, Patricia Patkau, and Pier Paolo Tamburelli, noted ArchDaily.                       

Founder: Louise Blouin