La Biennale di Venezia Announces Jury Members for 2018 Venice Biennale | BLOUIN ARTINFO
Louise Blouin Media
Louise Blouin Media, Inc.
88 Laight Street
New York
Blouin Artinfo

Subscriber login

Articles Remaining

Get access to this story, and every story on any device with our Basic Digital subscription.

Subscribe for only $20 Log in

La Biennale di Venezia Announces Jury Members for 2018 Venice Biennale

La Biennale di Venezia Announces Jury Members for 2018 Venice Biennale
Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, Directors of the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennial – “Freespace”
(Image courtesy of La Biennale di Venezia, © Andrea Avezzu via ArchDaily )

The Board of Directors of La Biennale di Venezia have announced the jury for the upcoming Venice Biennale. This year's jury has been recommended by the curators of 2018 edition, Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects, noted ArchDaily.

The 2018 international jury members include Frank Barkow from United States, Sofia Von Ellrichshausen from Argentina, Kate Goodwin from Australia, Patricia Patkau from Canada, and Pier Paolo Tamburelli from Italy. Frank Barkow is the founder and partner at Barkow Leibinger in Berlin. He has taught at the Princeton University School of Architecture and the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Chile-based architect, artist, and educator Sofia Von Ellrichshausen is the co-founder of the art and architecture studio Pezo von Ellrichshausen. She had co-curated the Chilean Pavilion at the 2008 Venice Biennale. Kate Goodwin has been exploring the intersection between art and architecture in her role as the Head of Architecture and Drue Heinz Curator at the Royal Academy of Arts. Patricia Patkau of Patkau Architects has taught at the University of British Columbia for more than 20 years as the Professor Emerita at the School of Architecture. Co-founder of the Baukuh studio, Pier Paolo Tamburelli is an architect as well as writer and editor of San Rocco magazine in Milan.

The jury will select the winners of the Golden Lion for Best National Participation, the Golden Lion for Best Participant in the International Exhibition “FREESPACE,” and the Silver Lion for a Promising Young Participant in the International Exhibition “FREESPACE,” stated ArchDaily. “The jury will also award one special mention to National Participations and two special mentions to the participants in the International Exhibition,” added ArchDaily.                       

Founder: Louise Blouin