Cooper Hewitt Announces 2018 National Design Award Recipients | BLOUIN ARTINFO
Louise Blouin Media
Louise Blouin Media, Inc.
88 Laight Street
New York
Blouin Artinfo

Subscriber login

Articles Remaining

Get access to this story, and every story on any device with our Basic Digital subscription.

Subscribe for only $20 Log in

Cooper Hewitt Announces 2018 National Design Award Recipients

Cooper Hewitt Announces 2018 National Design Award Recipients
“Seattle Art Museum: Olympic Sculpture Park” by Weiss/Manfredi is among the winners of 2018 Cooper Hewitt Design Awards, Photograph © Benjamin Benschneider
(Courtesy: Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum)

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum announced the winners of their 19th annual National Design Awards. The awards honor ten designers across a range of fields, giving visibility to the design community.

“All 10 of this year’s winners present a powerful design perspective and body of work that is at once inclusive and deeply personal, accompanied by great achievement, humanity, and social impact,” said Caroline Baumann, the museum’s director, on the occasion.

Writer, educator, and designer Gail Anderson has won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Anderson has written or co-authored a total of 14 books on popular culture and design, and formerly served as the senior art director at Rolling Stone. Design for America, a national network of innovators who empower communities to solve local problems through design, won the Corporate & Institutional Achievement Award. Architecture Design was given to WEISS/MANFREDI, known for connecting landscape, art, infrastructure, and architecture. The firm’s work has been exhibited at MoMA and will be featured in the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale. Anne Whiston Spirn, recognized for her longtime advocacy for balancing urbanism with nature, as well as her continued direction of the West Philadelphia Landscape Project, bagged the Design Mind award. Communication Design award was given to the firm Civilization.

Christina Kim, recognized globally for sustainable design practices and named by Time magazine as one of its Innovators of the Year in 2003, won this year’s Fashion Design award.

Architect and designer Neri Oxman received the Interaction Design award for her experimental material usage and continual boundary-pushing forms. Oxman is the founding director of the Mediated Matter Group at the MIT Media Lab. Their most recent project “Vespers,” is a contemporary reinterpretation of the death mask typology that uses living microorganisms. Oppenheim Architecture + Design won the Interior Design Award for its sense-invoking interiors that are often inspired by local vernacular. With projects in more than 25 countries, including the GLF Headquarters in Florida, the Enea Headquarters in Switzerland, and the Ayla Golf Academy and Clubhouse in Jordan, the firm designs with sensitivity toward man and nature — harmonizing with the surroundings of each site. Landscape Architecture was won by Boston-based landscape architecture firm Mikyoung Kim Design for its focus on improving urban resilience. Blu Dot, Minneapolis-based Furniture designer and manufacturer was given the Product Design award for its playful and modern stylings.

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum will honor awardees at a gala dinner and ceremony on October 18, 2018, which will be accompanied by National Design Week from October 13 through October 21, 2018.                              

Founder Louise Blouin